Holy Family Catholic School Bulletin

Wednesday, April 1, 2020

CORONAVIRUS SCHOOL CLOSURE UPDATES

The Archdiocese of Miami has closed school until further notice.  We will send updates as they become available. We are using a distance learning plan. Please stay in contact with your child’s teacher during this time via email.  The school office will be open by appointment only. The phones will be monitored Monday through Wednesday from 9:00 am – 1:00 pm. If no one answers, please leave a message and your call will be returned.  IN AN EFFORT TO KEEP EVERYONE SAFE AND HEALTHY, DO NOT COME TO THE OFFICE WITHOUT AN APPOINTMENT.

There will be no online classes from Thursday, April 9 through Monday, April 13, 2020. We will be closed for the Easter Holiday, Holy Thursday, April 9, Good Friday, April 10, and Easter Monday, April 13. 

ONLINE/DISTANCE LEARNING

All families were notified on March 13th of the need for the closure of the school due to the Covid-19 Virus. We are all working very hard to make the best of a terrible situation. To continue to offer your children continuity in their learning we have begun virtual classes. You should be receiving a daily email from your child’s teacher with very specific learning assignments that are expected to be completed. In addition to this daily email, you will also be able to find the assignments and lessons on RenWeb at the Parent Portal. Each class is also hosting daily Zoom Meetings where the teacher will be teaching lessons, answering questions, and checking in with students. These meetings and lessons are required.  All students are expected to log in to MobyMax, IXL, Zoom, and MyOn every day to complete each day’s work. Your child is being graded on these assignments and attendance is being taken. Promotion to the next grade for the 2020-2021 school year is contingent upon successful completion of the assigned work. These assignments are not just to keep your child busy; they are intended to help them learn the material needed to successfully complete this school year. Please make sure your child is logging in everyday and completing their work. The emails of the teachers are listed below so if you see an email with their name please open it and read it because it contains important information. Please email your child’s teacher with any questions or concerns. 

Rules for ZOOM Classroom Meetings 

  • No music should be played in the background

  • Students shouldn't have anything covering their faces

  • Students need to be in a quiet place so they can focus

  • This is not a social hour, this a teaching/learning experience

  • RESPECT each other

  • Students should be dressed appropriately for school

REGISTRATION FOR 2020 -2021 HAS BEGUN

Registration for next school year has begun. ABSOLUTELY NO ONE will be allowed to register for next school year if there is a balance due on tuition or aftercare accounts. The registration fee is $250.00 per child. If you register before March 17, 2020 you will receive a $50.00 discount. Re-registration is open until Wednesday March 11. After March 11, registration will be open to new families and no spot will be saved. Almost all of our classes are filled to capacity this school year. This means we will have very few spaces available in grades 1 – 8 for next year if everyone who is here returns. This also means if you do not register by March 11, you run the risk of losing your space. You must pay the registration fee and have completed your renewal application for Step-Up in order to register.

TEACHER EMAIL ADDRESSES

Preschool                     Ms. Odeline Oscar                              ooscar@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

VPK                            Ms. Tatiana Gonzales                         tgonzalez@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

Kindergarten               Ms. Marly Boucicaut                          mboucicaut@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

1st Grade                     Ms. Joe-Anne  Boursiquot                  jboursiquot@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

2nd Grade                    Ms. Jennifer de la Torriente           jdelatorriente@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

3rd Grade                     Ms. Merline Magny                            mmagny@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

4th Grade                     Ms. Tierra Forbes                               tforbes@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

5th Grade                     Ms. Marjeana Remarais                      mremarais@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

6th Grade                     Mr. Feguy Alezi                                  falezi@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

7th Grade                     Mr. Casey McCoy                              cmccoy@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

8th Grade                     Ms. Jasmine Porter                             jporter@holyfamilynorthmiami.org 

Art                               Ms. Stephanie Germain                      sgermain@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

Spanish/Religion         Deacon Ramirez                                  cramirez@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

Coach Solomon           Ms. Ebony Solomon                           esolomon@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

Principal                      Mrs. Doreen Roberts                          droberts@holyfamilynorthmiami.org

Please make sure we have your correct email address; all Wednesday bulletins and important information is sent home via email.

 LOOKING AHEAD​​​​​​​​​​​​​

OFFICE DEPOT/OFFICE MAX

​OfficeMax and Office Depot have a program which gives back to schools. Any time you shop at the store, they will send 5% of your purchase to the school of your choice. The ID # 70022545 is for Holy Family.

NO STUDENT SHOULD BE DROPPED OFF BEFORE 7:15AM- THERE IS NO SUPERVISION BEFORE THAT TIME

Please continue to send in your box-tops!